Follow my blog!

Tuesday, January 02, 2007

Tangerine by Marilynn Griffith is up on the CFBA tour, and I've posted my review, too...




Link to Marilynn's webpage



Buy Tangerine on Amazon now!



Book Description:

Fans of Pink and Jade will eat up Tangerine, the third book in the cutting-edge Shades of Style series. Jean Guerra, a designer at Garments of Praise design firm, doesn't like surprises. These days though, the unexpected meets her everywhere. Since Jean's return to the church a year ago, her God-encounters occur with increasing frequency, along with thoughts of her husband-the one she vowed to divorce and gave up on long ago. The one nobody at work knows about, not even her best friend, Lily, or her boss, Chenille. But when the designer assigned to work with Jean on a line of men's suits shows up, her heart flips. It's her husband, Nigel Salvador. Jean is finally rendered speechless. Can her bruised heart become whole enough to love again? Or will she remain in the trenches of loneliness forever?

My review:

Let me first say that I think the premise behind the novel is fabulous and unique. The couple is married, yet they were separated for such a LONG time that they lost touch with each other. The setup is very believable. Plus, they aren't young anymore (though I suppose that is a matter of opinion) and they even have a teenage granddaughter. Side note**The author still makes them sound attractive, so you tend to forget they are getting gray hair. Also, I love the morality and guilt issues woven into the plot regarding the hero's relationship with Carmen. That made for some great tension. I also loved those Murphy's Law moments interspersed through the story. It makes for some page-turning reading.


The cultural dynamics were also very well-done as were the many things these friends learned from each other during their journeys. There were so many wonderful sub-plots and resolutions that revealed the depth of each character that I was amazed at times with how the author brought out the life in them. These people seemed real; like they were my friends, neighbors, relatives, etc. And the romance between the hero and heroine was downright delectable. Yummy! The love scenes and the gentle humor and camaraderie between the couple were a delight to experience. Now I'll have to go back and read Pink and Jade.

3 comments:

upwords said...

Michelle,

Thanks for the review and the post. Glad you enjoyed it.

Marilynnr

Dee said...

Hi Michelle,

Thanks for the review... makes me want to buy it now.

Dee said...

Hi Michelle,

Great review, it makes me totally want to read the book now. Too often the characters' ages aren't supported by their actions, so that alone has me salivating.

Peace,
Dee

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Share this post

Bookmark and Share